The storm in the water glass

DruckversionPDF version
water glass

The fact that the production of meat requires a lot of water is now known. By contrast, the danger that intensive livestock farming represents for our drinking water is only known to a few people.

Franziska Herren is the initiator of the petition "Healthy clean water for all". She has worked intensively on the topic of contamination in drinking water and is convinced: "The current animal husbandry in agriculture represents a high health risk for humans, animals and plants".


How does pollution happen?

So-called microimpurities in the drinking water come from countless everyday products. Medicines, pesticides, detergents, cosmetics, plastics, etc. get into the water cycle and remain there because the timely upgrade of the treatment plants has been missed. Our drinking water is not routinely tested for micro-pollutants or multiresistant bacteria before it is released for use. In 2009, however, the Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN) commissioned various research projects to analyze micro-pollutants in Swiss waters.  The results show that these substances are demonstrably contained in the water, depending on the supply area and origin in larger or smaller quantities. 

Multiresistent bacteria

Another problem is the use of antibiotics. Today, 53 tonnes of antibiotics are used in Switzerland each year for animal feed. In comparison, the Swiss population consumes about 10 tonnes of antibiotics per year. The antibiotics from the animal mast are brought to the fields via manure thus also reach the drinking water. This excessive use of antibiotics has been led to the formation of multidrug-resistent bacteria that present a high health risk for humans and animals. More and more often it has become apparent that common antibiotics are ineffective against certain types of bacteria. The Commission for Biosafety (SECF) which was set up by the Federal Council, concluded after a comprehensive investigation: "Antibiotics-resistant bacteria are the greatest biological threat to the health of the Swiss population" 1

Pesticides

Conventional agriculture has a major impact on the quality of our drinking water. In this country almost twice as much pesticides are used as in Austria or in Germany. Three-quarters of the unwanted chemicals in our drinking water come from this excessive use in conventional cultivation. Pesticides can not be filtered out in most sewage treatment plants and remain in drinking water.

Demands of the petition

By upgrading existing wastewater treatment plants, it would now be possible today to filter 80% of micropollutants from wastewater. The federal government plans to upgrade 100 of the total 700 wastewater treatment plants (ARAs) in Switzerland over the next 20 years. As a result, 50% of the wastewater could already be 80% freed from micropollutants. In order to ensure the supply of clean, healthy drinking water in Switzerland, the petition "Healthy clean water for all" demands that the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC) immediately updates all ARAs in Switzerland and tests the drinking water for micropollutants and multi-drug resistant bacteria before it is released for use.

20% of the micropollutants are substances that can not be degraded or filtered out today (eg X-ray contrast media). Such polluting residues that are neither degradable nor filterable must be captured before they enter the water cycle.

Organic farming

Almost 12% of all Swiss farms are organic farms. Although the trend is upward, the remaining 88% continue to produce conventionally, including large amounts of pesticides and antibiotics. In order to protect the waters, the petition therefore calls for the annual subsidy payments of 3.5 billion francs to be linked with the requirement to operate exclusively organic farming. This could reduce the use of antibiotics to a minimum and pesticides would be banned. The positive effects of a nationwide sustainable production in agricultural could influence consumer behavior. The organic label would be superfluous if healthy foods were (again) the standard with no residues of chemicals and toxins. Anyone who already today decides to live completely without animal products can solve the problem at its root. Because without animal husbandry no antibiotics have to be used.

What can I do? 

Franziska Herren recommends that consumers themselves ask their community whether the drinking water has been tested for micropollutants or the presence of multidrug-resistant bacteria. Bacteria can be eliminated, for example by UV light, but not the micropollutants. "Many communities still have no idea what micropollutants are. The demand for drinking water quality in the community helps to make those responsible aware of the problem", Franziska is convinced.

Consumers have it in their own hands, because those who are aware that our most valuable food is provided with water by nature purely and free of charge, pay close attention to their shopping behavior and act with more respect in everyday life: less meat, organic food, biodegradable cleanser and detergent, vegetable and organic cosmetics in the shopping basket keep the water quality high. Even those who are vegetarian or vegan help to protect the drinking water. Even a minimal reduction in meat consumption has an impact on production and thus also on the quantity of antibiotics used. In addition, a predominantly herbal and organic diet with seasonal foods makes a significant contribution to the reduction of CO2 emissions.

Bernadette Raschle

 

Fussnoten:

La tempête dans le verre d'eau

DruckversionPDF version
Verre d'eau

Que la production de viande consomme de grandes quantités d'eau, cela est bien connu depuis un moment. Or à l'heure actuelle, seule une minorité de la population est consciente du risque que représente l'élevage pour notre eau potable. 

Franziska Herren est l'initiatrice de la pétition « De l’eau saine et propre pour tous ». Après avoir étudié intensément le sujet de la pollution de l'eau potable, elle est convaincue :
« L'élevage actuel représente un grand risque de santé autant pour les hommes que pour les animaux. »


Comment cette pollution se produit-elle ?

Les micropolluants dans l'eau potable proviennent d'innombrables produits de la consommation quotidienne. Médicaments, pesticides, détergents, cosmétiques, plastiques, etc. : ils gagnent le cycle de l'eau pour y rester car on a négligé la mise à niveau à temps des stations d'épuration. De façon routinière, notre eau potable n'est testée ni sur les micro-contaminants ni sur les bactéries multi-résistantes avant d'être approuvée à l'usage. En 2009, l'Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV) avait cependant commissionné différents projets de recherche analysant la situation quant aux micropolluants dans l'eau. Les résultats ont confirmé la présence de ces substances, leur concentration variant selon la zone géographique desservie et la provenance de l'eau. 

Bactéries multi-résistantes

À l'heure actuelle, une autre problématique quant à la contamination de l'eau, c'est l'usage d'antibiotiques. Chaque année en Suisse, on emploie 53 tonnes d'antibiotiques pour les animaux d'élevage. À titre comparatif, la population suisse consomme environ 10 tonnes d'antibiotiques par an. Par la voie du purin, les antibiotiques provenant de l'élevage gagnent les champs où ils sont réabsorbés par la terre et rejoignent l'eau potable. Cet emploi excessif d'antibiotiques a favorisé la naissance de bactéries entre-temps multi-résistantes qui représentent un risque élevé pour la santé des hommes, des animaux et des plantes. Il s'avère davantage que les antibiotiques habituels sont inefficaces contre certains types de bactéries. La Commission fédérale d'experts pour la sécurité biologique (CFSB) chargée par le conseil fédéral a conclu d'après une étude1 détaillée que les bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques représentent la plus grande menace biologique pour la santé de la population suisse. 1

Pesticides

L'agriculture conventionnelle a un grand impact sur la qualité de notre eau potable. En Suisse, on emploie presque deux fois plus de produits phytosanitaires qu'en Autriche ou en Allemagne. Effectivement, les trois quarts des produits chimiques indésirables présents dans notre eau potable proviennent de cette consommation excessive des cultures conventionnelles. La plupart des stations d'épuration ne peuvent pas filtrer les pesticides, ce qui signifie que ces derniers restent dans l'eau potable.

Revendications de la pétition

Une mise à niveau des stations d'épuration permettrait à l'heure actuelle de filtrer 80 % des micro-contaminants des eaux usées. Dans les 20 années à venir, la confédération projette de mettre à niveau 100 des 700 stations d'épuration ARA en Suisse. Ceci permettrait de libérer déjà la moitié des eaux usées de 80 % des micro-contaminants. Afin que la Suisse puisse garantir un ravitaillement en eau potable saine et propre, la pétition « De l'eau saine et propre pour tous / Gesundes sauberes Wasser für alle » revendique que le Département fédéral de l'environnement, des transports, de l'énergie et de la communication (DETEC) aborde la mise à niveau immédiate de l'ensemble des stations d'épuration et examine l'eau potable sur des micropolluants et des bactéries multi-résistantes avant de ne l'approuver à l'utilisation.

Pour 20% des micropolluants il s'agirait de substances ne pouvant être ni décomposées ni filtrées. Il est important d'intercepter de tels résidus contaminants ne pouvant être décomposés ni filtrés, avant qu'ils ne pénètrent dans le cycle de l'eau.

Agriculture biologique

Juste 12% de toutes les entreprises agricoles suisses sont des entreprises bio. Malgré la tendance croissante, les 88% restants ont une production conventionnelle incluant un emploi de pesticides et d’antibiotiques en grande quantité. Pour la protection de nos eaux, la pétition revendique alors le fait de relier les 3,5 milliards de versements de subventions annuelles à la condition d'exercer une activité agricole exclusivement biologique. Ceci permettrait de réduire à un minimum l'emploi d'antibiotiques, et les pesticides seraient interdits. Les conséquences positives d'une production durable généralisée en agriculture sont en mesure d'influencer l'attitude et le comportement des producteurs et des consommateurs. Le label bio serait alors superflu, vu que les aliments sains sans résidus de produits chimiques ou toxiques redeviendraient standard. En outre, celui qui décide d'adopter une alimentation entièrement sans produits d'origine animale peut résoudre le problème directement à sa racine. Car sans élevage, il n'y a pas d'emploi d'antibiotiques.    

Que puis-je faire ? 

Franziksa Herren conseille aux consommateurs et consommatrices de se renseigner auprès de leur commune, si l'eau potable a été testée quant aux micropolluants ou à la présence de bactéries multi-résistantes. Contrairement aux micro-polluants, les bactéries peuvent p.ex. être éliminées par des rayons ultraviolets (UV). Franziska affirme : « Grand nombre de communes ignorent ce que sont les micro-contaminants. Le fait de se renseigner sur la qualité de l'eau potable dans sa commune résidentielle aide à signaler le problème aux personnes responsables ».

La chose reste dans les mains des consommateurs et consommatrices. En tenant compte du fait que l'eau, notre plus précieux aliment, nous est mise à disposition gratuitement dans son état pur, on veille à son comportement consommateur et agit avec plus de respect dans le quotidien : dans le caddie, moins de viande, les aliments bio, régionaux et de saison ainsi que les détergents biodégradables, les produits cosmétiques bio, tout cela aide à maintenir la bonne qualité de l'eau. En choisissant encore une alimentation végétarienne ou végane, vous contribuez activement à la protection de l'eau potable. Déjà une réduction minimale de la consommation de viande a un impact sur la production et de fait également sur l'emploi d'antibiotiques. En outre, une alimentation végétale a priori bio participe significativement à la réduction des émissions de CO2.

Bernadette Raschle

Trad. Olivia Villard

 

Notes de bas de page: